Those Were The Days…

I’ve been trying out some of the new television shows that have started up mid-season, and I’m having a difficult time connecting with them.  I find it difficult to connect to new shows – – in fact, I’ve become sort of a TV commitment-phobe, because most of the shows I really start to like get yanked from the schedule.  I used to wonder why no one would stick with shows long enough to keep them on the air past one season.  Then one day the answer came to me.  THEME SONGS.  The new shows don’t have theme songs.

In the 70’s, I could be in any part of my house, and I would come running as soon as I heard the first few notes of “Sunday, Monday, Happy Days.”  I could quote for you right now the lyrics of The Dukes of Hazard, Greatest American Hero, or WKRP in Cincinnati. Ever watched any of those in reruns today?  Yep, they stunk, didn’t they?  We would poke our eyes out before we would watch any drivel like that today, so how did they keep us watching season after season back then?  They had a theme song.  We sang along, and we felt like we were part of the Duke clan, like we were cheering Ralph Hinkley on whether we believed in him or not, and like we were packing and unpacking with the WKRP crew.

allinfamily.jpgI’m not necessarily proud of it, but I know the words and tune to just about every theme song in the 70’s and 80’s.  I wasn’t sure HOW well I knew them until I recently went to a science museum that had a theme song game in their “memory” display.  I SO ruled that game!  I was half expecting bells to go off and someone to come out from the museum office and present me with a check or something.  That’s how well I did.  It really bugs me that there are no theme songs today.  When I am excited about something, I want a soundtrack to accompany it.  Like the blogging class that inspired me to start this blog in the first place.  It was awesome!  Our teacher, Black Belt Mama, has had a successful blog for some time now, and showed us all the ropes – – from safety issues, to developing a theme, to designing our blog’s look, and finally onto writing a blog people will actually want to read.  Now that’s a class to get excited about…an event that needs a theme song!  Maybe something like this…

Come and listen to a story about a class I took
A class ‘bout blogging, didn’t even need a book.
Then one day I was typin’ up a storm,
And up through the laptop, a website was born.

Blog that is, Black Belt gold, WordPress tea.

Well the first thing you know ol’ Topsy’s online,
Kinfolk said “Try to get a byline”
Said bloggin’ ‘bout tech is the place you oughta be – –
So I settled on a theme and the rest is history.

Blogs, that is. Homeschool tales. Geeky stars. .  .The Topsy Techie Blog!

(Thanks to the terrific folks at Time4Learning for creating an audio file for my Blog Song. Hey, it’s not every blog that gets its own theme song, ya know!)

No doubt about it.  TV needs to go back to theme songs.  Don’t you agree?  If you feel the same way, then  ♪♪ come and knock on my door…I’ve been waiting for you… ♪♪

7 Responses

  1. Brilliant. I am with on every step on this. My favorite programs always get cancelled. And my otherwise failing memory is spectacular on theme songs and old advertisements.

    Oh, and we love the Beverly Hillbilly Bloggers song.

  2. Let’s further test your theory. Name these TV shows:

    “The modern stone age family.”

    “Daughter Judy. Jane, his wife.”

    “A three hour tour.”

  3. Thanks for stopping by, Intuitively! So now for your question…Yabba, dabba, your kidding, right? I could Jet-ti-son right through those answers if I weren’t stranded on this island. Darn!

    How about you…who can turn the world on with her smile? 😉

  4. OMG, I thought I was the only person who still remembered the lyrics to Greatest American Hero! And I can’t help it, but the Love Boat theme will forever be played in my head the way Bill Murray did it in his lounge lizard act for SNL (along with the words he made up for the Star Wars theme)

    My favorite theme, though, is from Firefly 😉

  5. …and suddenly make it all seem worth while…

    Mary Tyler Moore Show

    Wow, glad I’m not alone on the whole theme song thing.

    This is great!

  6. OMG. When did I become my age? LOL. When did the shows that I faithfully watched as a kid become classics? Ugh.

    I love theme songs! You start a blog karaoke and I’m there! :o)

    Besides the 80’s shows (and the 70’s ones that I caught on rerun), I have 90’s theme songs that continuously run through my head as well. The theme from 90210 (yes, I am a little ashamed to admit that), Buffy’s theme (the tv show, not the movie) was actually a favorite ringtone on my cell for quite some time, at any given point in my day you may find me singing out “I’ll be there for you” from Friends and the smoking guy from x files is much beloved character here. Haha. :o)

    Loved the GREAT “Blog-billies” theme song!! :o)

  7. It says “error opening file.” Darn it! I really wanted to hear it. You’re a riot!

Comments are closed.

