6 Unimportant Things About Me

Ok, so Firefly Mom tagged her blog readers with the difficult task of finding 6 unimportant things about themselves and blogging about them.  I tried to explain to her that EVERYTHING about me is important, but for the sake of argument, I will try and comply with the rules of the game……

(1)  I rotate everything.  When I’m putting away clean clothes, towels, etc., they have to go underneath, behind, or below the clothes and towels already in the closet.  The clean dishes are put away behind the other dishes in the cabinets, and the neglected ones pulled to the front so they can be used first.  Even my silverware is rotated so that it all gets used an equal amount.  Some might call this a sign of OCD, and they would probably be right on the money.  See, I told you this stuff was important.

(2) My boobs are different sizes.  And keep in mind that neither one is a full B cup.  But one is pitifully even more microscopic than the other, and feels jealous most of the time.  I’ve tried to make it feel better by padding that side of my bra, but it backfired on me and now I think I may have given it a complex.  I’m checking into boob therapists, but the only ones I’ve found so far are 50 year old men who look like they might not be sincerely in it for the healing.

(3) I have eclectic tastes in music.  Tony Bennett is my all time fave.  Hands down.  Anything that man sings makes my heart go to goo.  But I’ve also bought or downloaded some seriously diverse tracks in my time.  My ipod, if I had one, would probably have some Rascal Flatts, U2, The Corrs, Alison Krauss, Nickel Creek before they broke up, Alicia Keys, a little John Mayer and a lotta 80’s pop rock.  I have a whole CD collection of Big Band music, too, and my favorite XM channel is Frank’s Place, which highlights the American Songbook.  No one will ever figure me out by looking at my Itunes playlist.  I dare you to try.

(4) I love containers.  Tupperware gives me goosebumps.  Carry-all bags get my heart racing.  You know those wonderfully useful plastic tubs that baby wipes come in?  I’ve got em by the hundreds, and you’d be surprised at how well they hold up after 10 years.  (Scary thought, huh, considering there are probably 8.5 trillion of them currently sitting in various landfills around the earth)my legs

(5) I can’t tan.  I can trace my ancestry back to the Mayflower, and I am an official DAR, so what does that mean for me?  Yep.  A pasty complexion.  Those imperial genes of mine prove that I am Anglo-Saxon to the core, and therefore  will never, ever look good in a bikini.  Ok, so actually my B-minus cup size already secured that status, but even when I was nursing my 2 kiddos and sported a solid C, I would have never been caught dead in a thong at the beach for fear that the reflection of the sun and sand off my skin might have speeded up our current global warming crisis.  (and yes, before you ask me, those are my ACTUAL legs.  It might be wise to now make an appointment with your opthamologist, just to make sure there is no lasting damage)

(6) I type my blog using my toes.  Of course that’s a lie, but wouldn’t that be cool???  And it is so much more interesting than any of this other “unimportant” crud I’ve just shared with you. 

A big shout-out to Firefly Mom, who gave me the idea for this post.  And for those of you who are children of the eighties, like myself, you’ve gotta head over to her blog each Thursday and check out her Thursday Thirteen, which will definitely take you back in a big way.  And for those of you bloggers who haven’t yet been tagged with this one, consider yourself marked, and let us know when you post. TTFN, y’all.

3 Responses

  1. R-T here, Okay so everything Topsy writes is true—especially about her container fetish. Much of our storage space is taken up by empty storage containers. I have never known what all we are one day going to store or what kind of impending storage emergency we will face, but we are ready for it. The funniest thing is to hear Topsy actually say “I have nothing good to store this in” while looking at cabinet of empty storag containers in every shape and size. The shocking thing is the boob size. Is that really true? Can that kind of thing really happen? I thought boobs were always symmetrical. Not that I have ever really noticed those Sports Illustrated Swimsuit issues or anything. Can you imagine my shock at being married to someone for 17 years and finding out such an intimate detail for the first time by reading it on a blog? I am not sure what that says about my powers of observation. Maybe one of my eyes is bigger than the other and I just could not tell. I actually think it has more to do with being blinded by the sight of those beautiful white legs all these years. Love you Topsy–nothing about you is unimportant.

  2. R-T is so sweet…

    I love these things – it’s a lovely way to get to know more about someone..

    and the assymetric boobs – you’re not alone, and I find it reassuring, though I don’t think men notice too much really – it’s only us that do!

  3. OK, I don’t know what was funnier – your post or your hubby’s response! All of your storage space is filled with empty storage containers? That’s too funny! And I’m guessing if he didn’t notice your boobs, he probably doesn’t notice when you get your hair cut, either 😉

    As for being white – you are not alone! I showed your picture to my husband and the first words out of his mouth were “When did you get shorts?” I had to explain that they weren’t *my* legs!

Comments are closed.

