Just Th!nk

When I was about eight years old, my dad took me to a car show at the local civic center.  The venue was full of shiny boxy 70’s versions of Plymouths, Fords, and Toyotas.  But the central focus of the show was on this incredible little futuristic concept car that looked like it had fallen directly down from Battlestar Galactica.  I was mesmerized.  My dad explained that this was an all-electric car, and that by the time I was driving, the roads would be full of these little environmentally and pocketbook friendly babies. The oil and gas crisis earlier in the decade had brought environmentalism to the forefront, and my dad naturally assumed that the general public would be clamoring for an alternative to their current gas guzzlers. So eight years later, license in hand, I looked around the highways and saw…the same old pollution-spewing, wallet-chomping vehicles. 

Where were all those little electrical beauties that my dad assured me would be there waiting for me?  Well, I’m still waiting.  I have had a fascination with electric cars since those early years, and I have been patiently impatiently waiting for the day when they are ready for the mainstream.  The past year has put my patience to the test.  As an economically-challenged homeschooling family, the current gas hike has made quite an impact on our budget.  My laptop took it’s last agonizing breath months ago, and I have been leeching from the generosity of Timeworn-Techie who has graciously lied about “not needing” her laptop right now.  Our vacation plans have gone from a weeklong family trip to Vegas we had been planning, to a long weekend at the beach.  Now granted these are not huge sacrifices, but they are enough to make me long for the day when I do not have to weep aloud at the gas pump.

And then along comes…the Th!nk – – the little car so reminiscent of my childhood futuristic fantasy.   They are comingThink-city-9_imagelarge to America sometime next year, and it couldn’t be soon enough for me.  I am intoxicated by the thought of owning one of these cuties.  So intoxicated, in fact, that I am barraging their North American company with offers to be one of the first test drivers of their zero emission, safety-conscious product.  I mean, why not me?  I live in the city (their target market), I am forward thinking, I am upwardly mobile, I am always ready to try something new.  And best of all, I am skint.  I simply can’t think of another person more suited to try out a Th!nk-mobile.  Ok, so maybe the fact that my family is made up of a 6′ 2″ man and two boys who are quickly gaining on him might put a slight damper on my prospects for this mini-mobile, but if I can convince the people at Th!nk that we have a background in circus clowning, and fitting large groups into small automobiles, I think we may stay in the running. 

So keep your fingers crossed for me, folks.  Cause staying on my good side might just mean I’ll take you for a spin in my snazzy little money-saver (as long as you have no prior history of claustrophobia, that is). 

5 Responses

  1. Topsy – When I was growing up, we were all going to have little planes and maybe rocket ships. And later, we were all going to drive Mazdas that went swooosh (anybody else remember the Wankel engine?). I think you’d do great in a Think.

  2. What a cool little car! I hadn’t heard of them before, but after reading your post spent a good deal of time flitting about the net looking for all the info I could garner. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that they pick you for a tester 🙂

  3. Oh I love it and I want one too!!! This is too cute. My girlfriend moved to Italy four years ago (military) and when she arrived the first thing she did was go out and buy a tiny car that seats four–I don’t think it’s the ecofriendly version but I bet it’s close considering she went from having a 23 mpg minivan to her little 60 mpg cutie car.

    I hope you get to test drive one, that would make for a really cool story to share with us! Good luck.

  4. The USA burns bridges to the future every time. Those babies that say we don’t want to live like Europe. A few years later we are doing what Europes been doing for years. Well the Zenn has jumped into 100% electric and a new charging system I cann’t wait to get my hands on next year. It’s about time a neighbor {Canada to the north} goes down the correct path.

  5. […] a cute little white Prius.  As some of you who’ve been following me for a while know, I’m kind of obsessed with the idea of owning an electric vehicle someday, so trying out a hybrid was at least a partial […]

Comments are closed.

