Summer Funk

So, we finished our homeschool year, and something weird happened. My brain went on vacation.  I’m not kidding.  I could blame it on the recent blonde dye job I got, I guess.  Or the unusually high temps we’re having here in the South right now.  But it doesn’t matter how it happened, it just happened.  I have been in a funk for the better part of a week now.  I don’t remember much that has happened in the last several days.  The last thing I remember was attending my 20th high school reunion on Saturday night.  That’s where things start to get fuzzy.  I’m pretty sure I was stunningly clever and ageless, as I always knew I would be when I saw my classmates again.  I said all the right things at the right time, erasing all memories of my geeky high school persona, and negating my reigning “Most Likely to Stalk Bill Gates” superlative.

But the rest of this week has been a blur.  I haven’t blogged.  I haven’t watched TV.   Worst of all, I haven’t gotten started on the umpteen summer projects I have lined up for myself.  I’m not sure what I’ve done except check my email and catch up on some sleep.  I’ve heard of SAD – – Seasonal Affective Disorder, but that’s supposed to hit you in the middle of winter, right?  When you haven’t gotten your daily allotment of Vitamin K from the sun, and your emotions start to go all depressed and gloomy?  Maybe I have PRAD – – Post Reunion Affective Disorder.  When you finally realize you have been out of high school for twenty years and the only thing you have to show for it are those really deep lines around your eyes. 

Thank God no one at the reunion noticed my eyes because I was too busy charming them with my witty conversation. Sigh….so far, summer is kind of sub-par.  Not to worry…I’m sure the summer funk can’t last all summer…right?  Right??!!

 

Here is my group photo from the reunion.  We were a private Christian school, with only 16 in our graduating class, so only nine of us, and our spouses were in attendance Saturday.  But it was a great night!  I am the fourth person from the left in the front row in the green sweater – – the one who looks like she is about to say something incredibly clever. R-T is just behind me. 

2 Responses

  1. Do you remember that your hair resisted the blonde color this time?!? That should have been an indicator. I think changes are in the the hair,. . . air, I mean. Mom

  2. PRAD – must’ve been what hubby had after his 20th last year! I hear that for the 10th everyone acts like they’re still in school, for the 20th everyone questions where they are in their own lives, and for the 30th and beyond everyone is comfortable with themselves and each other. So cheer up! In 10 years, you’ll be fine ;D

Comments are closed.

