Wall-E…A Right Brainer’s (And Left Brainer’s) Dream Come True

I’ve taken all the tests…all of them, trying to figure out just exactly how my brain works (or doesn’t).  And all of them tell me the same thing.  I’m extremely left brained.  For those of you who don’t quite know what that means, I’ll give you a quick infomercial.  Left brained people, like me:

  • Respond to verbal instructions (i.e. do not use pointing, grunting, hand gestures, or facial expressions if you have something important you want me to know.  You must use your words!)
  • Problem solve by logically and sequentially looking at the parts of things (i.e. I can’t put a peanut butter and jelly sandwich together unless I have specific step-by-step instructions)
  • Looks at differences (i.e. overthinks everything)
  • Is planned and structured  (i.e. I love to plan; I hate to follow through with said plans)
  • Prefers established, certain information (i.e. we would like the term “grey area” politely removed from English vocabulary)
  • Prefers talking and writing (i.e. see “planned and structured” above – – we are useless)
  • Prefers multiple choice tests (i.e.  this is how my husband proposed: “Would you like to A) Marry Me, B) Marry Me, C)Marry Me, D) Marry that guy you used to date who turned out to be an alcoholic and a bum”  Hey, I know the correct choice when I see it
  • Controls feelings (i.e. closed off and in need of constant anxiety medication)
  • Prefers ranked authority structures (i.e. I do my best work in school and/or prison situations)

Yep…this pretty much defines me to the Nth degree.  And it really irks me.  I long to be the creative, right-brained gal who sees the big picture, and takes life in stride, and doesn’t sweat the small stuff – – heck, doesn’t sweat, period!  I have always looked for any sign that proves that I might have just the teensiest bit of right-brained DNA in me.  To no avail…until yesterday!

image Yesterday, we headed out to our local arts cinema (you know…the fun sit down cinemas where you can eat pizza and sip wine, and not see much on the screen, but it doesn’t matter cause it’s so cool to be there??).  Well, our arts cinema is trying to go a smidge more “mainstream” and “kid-friendly” this summer, and has shown movies like Indiana Jones, and now…Wall-E.  Well, H-T has been watching the Wall-E trailers for almost three months now online, and became convinced that it was going to be Pixar’s crowning achievement.  So, he dragged us along for the ride.  And what a ride!

Wall-E is a visual masterpiece.  The entire first half of the movie is almost entirely without dialogue, and relies on incredible animated images to convey the story of this plucky little robot in his desolate existence on an abandoned planet Earth, and his determination to make a romantic connection with the new robot on the block.  I could see why my extremely right-brained kiddo was drawn to this story – – it was a spectacle of visual stimulation.  But I loved it!!  I was mesmerized by the scenes, the story, and the emotion that was wrapped up in the almost wordless animation.  It was my holy grail – – the proof I needed that there is some little spark of right-brainedness buried deep inside that logical grey mass of mine. 

So, the moral of this story?  Whether you are right-brained or left-brained you will enjoy Wall-E, so take those little gremlins of yours out to that overpriced, over-commercialized place called your local movie theater, prop them up with some popcorn and a Coke, and prepare to be spellbound for an hour and a half or so.  You’ll thank me later….

3 Responses

  1. So when I go up to the window to pay, should I tell them that “Topsy sent me”??

    I remember when they had us take tests like that in college for my psychology class. I fall pretty much in the middle.

  2. I wouldn’t…I think I may have spilled my Coke on their floor and left a pretty rotten overall impression…they might charge you extra.

    I should’ve figured you for a “middler.” The sci-fi gal who blogs up a storm. Yep…you’ve got engines firing on both sides. I’m jealous!! 🙂

  3. Hmmm….maybe it should read “you’ve got engines *mis*firing on both sides” 😀

    Seriously – my brain hasn’t functioned properly since I had Cody. And that’s almost 13 years ago!

Comments are closed.

