I’m Coming Out of the (Water) Closet

Ok, so that is really pushing it for a clever blog post title.  But technically, it is the truth.  I’m afraid I’ve spent the last few days getting far too acquainted with our bathroom (aka British: water closet) due to an intestinal bug of sorts.  Don’t worry…I’m all about keeping quiet when gory details are better left unshared.  Suffice it to say that I’ve had enough time in there to redesign the bathroom at least 20 different ways in my head. 

But having all that “me” time, has given me time to think.  And oh – – what a dangerous thing we know that can be!!  (Last time I had time to think, I cancelled our satellite subscription.  My hubby still stares at the fuzzy screen as if the History channel is just magically going to appear)

But this time, my thoughts turned in a more blogger-ly direction, and I realized that as much as I have enjoyed being me by day, and Topsy-Techie by night (well, you get the gist), that keeping my personas separate can be exhausting!  Especially when so much of my freelance work is done online.  When I started this blog, I decided not to share any identifying info about myself because of safety issues.  But having given it some thought, I’m confident enough that even what is out there on the web about me is pretty non-specific anyway.  Makes me think of this great quote I read today…

If someone Googles me, and nothing comes up….do I really exist?????

Gotta love that!  But if you Google me – – the real me – – , truth is, you won’t find out much more than you already know.  I’m a homeschooling mom, raising a couple of boys with unique needs and incredible souls.  That’s usually something along the byline that I give to my freelance work.  You might find out what state I live in…but unless you live within driving distance, and have a penchant for 30-somethings with glasses and cellulite, I figure I’m safe with you.

So….today, I’m coming out of the closet.  My name is Kerry Jones.  And it is very nice to meet you!!

The Real Me !

The Real Me !

6 Responses

  1. Welcome to the outside world. (I love to Google myself.)

  2. Hey, not many people will admit to Googling themselves…you go girl!

  3. Congrats on outing yourself! 😉 You’re a braver women than I am!

  4. Would it make you feel any better to know that when I Google myself, only one entry comes up?

    Glad to know that I can finally admit to knowing your real name 😀

    P.S. I’m picking up that Tourette’s DVD you recommended at the library tomorrow. I’ll let you know how I like it!

  5. Hey, Kerry! Pleasure to meet you! I am Tina Cruz. Once I started writing for the OC Register autism blog, it killed any anonymity I had maintained. Well, that and BlogHer. So, here I am.

    Welcome to the unmasked ball!

    T.

  6. Thanks for outing yourself, Tina! And for your terrific blog as well!

Comments are closed.

