Oh, Fay…you fickle girl, you!

There was a little girl
Who had a little curl
Right in the center of her forehead
When she was good
She was very very good
But when she was bad she was horrid

I used to LOVE this poem which was in a Golden Book of kids poems that my grandmother read to me when I was a little slip of a thing.  But today, it was exactly the rhyme that came to mind when I thought of Hurricane (now Tropical Storm) Fay. fay map

I know what an incredibly bad girl Fay was in Florida. She traveled back and forth  across the Sunshine State like a drunken sailor, causing severe flooding and eleven deaths.  Then she hit Georgia with her tantrum, creating more problems.  But somebody musta’ given her a lollipop.  Cause right after leaving Georgia, she visited us here in drought-plagued NC, and she has been a delight ever since she arrived.  With her steady rains bringing us much needed relief, we’ve invited her to stay for as long as she is willing.

This pic is from our local paper today.  I wasn’t even sure anyone still owned an umbrella. I’ve got to go through the house and track ours down.  The boys are probably using it to prop something up in their room.

 

                         fay

Fay…you be a good girl now, and we’ll keep those lollies coming, kay?

4 Responses

  1. Be careful what you wish for! We got 22 inches of rain in one day, then 2 inches the next, and then about 4 more yesterday. The sun was out this morning and I didn’t even know what it was! Be careful – with your drought situation you’re going to have even worse problems with the flooding (at least temporarily). But I hope Fay brings you all the rain you hope for! Just not all at once. 🙂

  2. Heather – 22 inches??? Is that even possible??? Oh, I’m getting my time out chair ready in case she decides not to behave while she’s here!

  3. We’ve got about 4.5 inches – our gauge only goes to 5. Our creek is turning into a river…

  4. Karen – Fay is definitely feisty, isn’t she? Here’s hoping she settles down a bit before these good rains turn into flooding issues!

Comments are closed.

