Jet Lag + First Day of School = OMG squared

tired Look who’s back!  After an overnight flight on which I got about one hour of sleep, I got back home yesterday at a little after 10 a.m.  I would not be exaggerating to say that I spent the rest of the day and night in bed, and no, R-T doesn’t have an extra spring in his step today.  The majority of that was spent catching up on some much needed z’s. 

But I’m definitely still lagging today as we start our first official day of homeschool for the year.  I’m pretty sure that when the airport locates my brain in their lost luggage pile, they will send it along, and everything will get into a groove.  Until then, well, let’s just say we will be winging it a bit.

Thank goodness for cyberschools!  Because of Time4Learning and 3DLearn, at least the majority of lesson planning is taken care of.  Uber is so psyched to find eight or nine new kids in his class this year, and social butterfly on steroids that he is, he has been busily “working the room” trying to get as much info as possible on each one (read: figure out which ones will be IM-worthy) since this morning. I LOVE the social aspect of 3-D Learn, and it is such a perfect fit for my geek-socialite.

H-T, ever my comedian, started out the day on a fun note.  As we sat down for Morning Prayer (we are Episcopalian and do Morning Prayer from the Book of Common Prayer each morning before school), the following conversation took place:

Me:  So.  Here we are.  Starting out our new school year.  Welcome to 7th and 9th grades, guys!

Uber:  I am so excited that today is the first day of school!  I can’t wait to get started.

H-T: (staring with utter confusion at his brother). Uber, you know, those bangs of yours hide your lobotomy scars really well.

 

Yep, it’s back to school at the Topsy-Techie household.  How is school going for everyone else? 

p.s.  Stay tuned for a picture post from my Vegas excursion…as soon as Delta sends over my lost brain, I will be right back up to speed, I promise!

 

One Response

  1. I’m glad to hear that it’s not only my kids that “have a go” each other starting first thing in the morning…..Should I admit that I’m sometimes pleased that they have goes at each other and not at me? nahhhhh.

    Welcome back, you non-teacher you…

Comments are closed.

