A Nice Place To Visit, But I Wouldn’t Wanna Live There

I’m referring of course to Las Vegas.  Sin City.  Entertainment capital of the World.  What happens there, stays there.  You know the one.  Well, Uber and I went.  We experienced.  We played.  And we returned.  And although for him, it was the “trip of a lifetime”, for me, I would have to say it was a nice place to visit, but I wouldn’t wanna live there. 

And here are my reasons:

HPIM2023    NO TREES.

Yes, this is the general landscape of the area around the city of Las Vegas.  It is interesting.  For about a day.  Compared to Vegas, my yard looks like a rain forest. 

 

 

 

HPIM1983

 

MONSTROUS RESORTS.

Yes, I know that is supposed to be a PLUS, but even though they are something to see, you get two calluses and a bunion just walking from the front to the rear of one.

 

 

HPIM1993

 

               BUDGET?  WHAT BUDGET?

See that building mid-strip that looks like it is only about half finished?  Know what it has already cost to build?  Several Billion smackers.  Yep.  I said Billion with a ‘B.’  And that is with at least two years more to go before it is finished.  Unless they are planning on fitting all the homeless and refugee people in the world in there, I’m thinking that might be going a smidge overboard.

 

 

HPIM2000

 

       LIONS ON THE CEILING

So there you are, just walking along peacefully through MGM Grand Resort and Hotel, when suddenly you look up and realize there is a lion butt above your head.  And I kid you not there was a huge crack in the glass just to the left of him.  I mean I enjoy a good lion as much as the rest of them, but if they are going to come raining down, butt and all, on my head, I’d like some kind of siren to go off beforehand, kay?

 

 

HPIM2002

     A SENSE OF CONFUSION

Las Vegas is incredible.  I mean, here you are in Sin City one minute and the Big Apple the next.  I enjoyed it thoroughly, but if I had known Vegas had warp-holes that let you travel across space and time, I would’ve ordered my Spamalot tickets ahead of time online. (Yes, I have my Clay Aiken moments.  Don’t judge me.)

 

HPIM2004

 

   WEIRD FOREIGNERS

I love foreign accents.  And we heard every possible one through our daily strolls down the Strip.  But once in a while, you would pass by some weird looking out-of-towner who just gave you the creeps.  I kept looking back at this guy, just to make sure he wasn’t packing plutonium under all that blue terrycloth.

 

 

 

HPIM2010

         DID YOU KNOW THEY ALLOW GAMBLING HERE ???

To say I was flabbergasted and appalled would be an understatement.  Everywhere you turn in this city, someone is actually wagering money.  I covered Uber’s eyes so much that he got a handprint shaped sunburn on his forehead.  The very idea of allowing such goings on in a public place!!  (Obviously I won zilcho.  Sigh)

 

HPIM2036

THE DAMS HERE ARE TOO BIG

So we took a tour of this place called Hoover Dam, and it was so big it blocked all the scenery.  They should really do something about that.  Our government dollars wasted again.  Geez.

 

 

 

So, as you see, Las Vegas is a terrific site for a vacation, but I wouldn’t plop down any good money for real estate there.    I just don’t completely trust a place that let’s their polar bears out of the zoo just to pose for photos with tourists and has plants that actually hurt when you try to touch them…..

HPIM2007

HPIM2057

 

 

 

 

 

 

BUT IT WAS NICE TO VISIT…………………

3 Responses

  1. Oh, this post had me cracking up! Yeah, maybe a nice place to visit, but I think I’ll stay here in NC. 😉

  2. I love reading your perspective on places and things. Let’s call it: Topsy-Techie Trip Advisor.com!! Thanks for the memories, Topsy…

  3. Karen – – Nothing could be finer than to be in Caroliner…remember that old song? Please say you do, so I don’t feel ancient!!

    Holley – – Yep, I’m betting it would get loads of hits from poor shlumps like myself who never go anywhere, so when we do…it’s dangerous!

Comments are closed.

