Who Took My Gas ??!!

Hysteria took over my town this past week and weekend.  Warnings about how Hurricane Ike was going to seriously gas can slow down oil production in Texas sent our city residents into panic.  They took their cars, gas cans, and Tupperware, and headed out to the pumps in droves over fears of gas shortages.  There were lines of cars nine or ten deep at particular stations.  So guess what happened?

Yup.  A gas shortage.  Dontcha just love it when people fulfill their own worst fears??

So now people are calling their local gas stations each morning the way parents call Wally World two weeks before Christmas when they neglected to pick up a ‘Tickle me Elmo’ back in September like the rest of the sane world. “Is a shipment coming today?”  “When do you expect it in?”  “I have a daughter I will give you…she’s not that pretty, but she can cook a mean cornbread.”

You get the gist.

We literally have no gas in our town.  The stations all either have police tape around the pumps, or garbage bags over each of the nozzles.  We look like we’ve been taken over by serial gas station murderers.  And when one station gets in a shipment of fuel, it makes the radio headlines, and guess what happens?

Yup.  Stupid people head over with their cars, gas cans, and Tupperware, and there isn’t anything left for the rest of us. 

Some stations are putting $20 limits per customer on new shipments.  It’s sad when you have to treat a city  like an overgrown day care facility, but it looks like that is what it has come to. 

Come on people…think for yourselves once in awhile and stop following the group!!! Oh, yeah, and STOP STEALING MY GAS!!!!   If you’ll excuse me now, I’m off to get my bike fixed…..

8 Responses

  1. It’s like snow storms with milk and bread. Seriously people, is it necessary to buy the entire bread aisle for a one day storm? We have things called snow plows now! Geez.

    Just think of all that exercise you’ll get on your bike. 😉

  2. Oh, I hear ya! Today I ventured into town for the first time since Mr. Ike visited Texas. It was kind of odd… not as many cars. I did find gas on Sp. Hwy – unleaded for $3.99. I keep wanting to go up to people and yell, “Snap out of it!”

  3. We had the same thing happen here…and we’re still out of gas too. Unfortunately I was running on fumes at the end of the day that day (was it Friday?), so I was forced to sit in line to get gas for an hysteria-created gas shortage too! All I could do was shake my head in bewilderment. I think one station managed to get some low-grade gas, and it’s “only” $4.04/gallon, which is way cheaper than the $5.49 scare we were hearing. UGH.

  4. Thanks for stopping by yesterday! We had that problem around here right before gustav hit up! Much Love

  5. BBM – Yup, I’m heading out on my bike right now to pick up some bread (thanks for the reminder!)

    Karen – Wanna make a pact?? I won’t syphon your gas if you won’t syphon mine! 😉

    Heather – How much do you think fumes cost right now? I might be asking to buy some from you by the end of the week…

    Anissa – Think us “south-en-uhs” might be a bit on the panicky side???

  6. Deal! LOL!

  7. It makes you wonder how these people function in their day-to-day lives if they are so irrational at the mention of a possible disaster. I mean, isn’t that the time for calm, rational behavior??
    Ugh, people can be so stupid.

  8. Yep, same here. Morons drove it up to $4.99 here in K-town for a few days!

    Hope the price of air doesn’t go up too…my bike needs some.

Comments are closed.

