Leaf Peeping

Sunday, October 12, 2008.

It was one of those perfect afternoons.  The kind you wish you could hit the “Pause” button on.  The weather was between 60-65 degrees, and a jacket felt just right. As we headed further and further up in elevation, the sights were getting more and more spectacular.  I was tempted to pull out my camera and just start shooting pics right from the car window, but I’ve tried that before, and my impatience wasted disc space and got me some crappy blurred photos.

So I waited.  And it was worth it. 

I’m not sure I’ve ever seen the colors in the Blue Ridge Mountains quite as brilliant as they were yesterday.  They say on the news that a drought brings out more pigment in the trees.  I believe them, and am thankful there is at least one upside of this stupid rain famine. 

None of us were prepared, though, for what we were going to see as we got up around 5000′ elevation.  I’m not kidding when I say that the colors almost hurt your eyes, they were so vibrant. 

Words can’t possibly do this trip justice, so I’ll share some of our pics.  I wish you guys could’ve been there…

(click any picture to enlarge)

Leaf Peeping 004   On our way up.  Close, but not there yet…

Leaf Peeping 005 ooh la la

Leaf Peeping 010 view from our hike

Leaf Peeping 015   R-T and H-T

Leaf Peeping 018   the peace brothers

Leaf Peeping 020  God’s paintbrush

Leaf Peeping 028  my kinda background

Leaf Peeping 039  picture perfect….

Needless to say we have plenty of material for our computer wallpaper for a while.

4 Responses

  1. Wow! I can’t believe those leaves! They’re beautiful. They’ve just started turning here. We’ve seen a lot of families out collecting them this past week.

  2. Love these photos…We want to get away and go hiking soon. I’m tired and the walls are closing in. I want to go to this same place, fill my lungs with crisp, fall air and be inspired. Tell me where you went on this breathtaking hike??

    HJ

  3. I just made a youtube showcase of some of these (including ones I took for the MTG cards)

  4. FM – I just can’t add another “pile” to our collections…rock collections, gem and mineral collections, shell collections, dust bunny collections…no room for leaf collections!

    Holley – Hope you are getting to hike to your hearts content this weekend!

    Espeorb – Can’t wait to see it…thanks for going leaf peeping with me bud!

Comments are closed.

