You Get What You Ask For…

So last week I begged for a meme – –  any meme  – – to help me get through my super-duper-allyooper big busy remodeling week, and TLC – -my chocolate-lovin’ bloggin’ buddy over at Send Chocolate – – came through for me.  She tagged me with the task of sharing seven random facts about myself.

So for you, my lovin’ groupies, I’ll do just that.  (Actually I’m just way too exhausted after this week’s project to come up with anything else tonight.)

Here goes nuffin…

  1. I collect antique school books.  I mean the REALLY old ones that came just after the chalk and slate.  They are SO cool!  And you haven’t lived until you have read a school health textbook from 1895.  Leeches, anyone?
  2. I have to have the last word on things.  Unfortunately, my eldest son inherited the trait, which means that arguments with us can go on for days.  You think I’m kidding??  I’m not EVEN kidding.  Days!  And even when it’s “over” he and I are still muttering our last words under our breath as we go off to lick our battle wounds. (And Twittering is becoming an equally difficult problem.  STOP RESPONDING TO ME PEOPLE!! Don’t you understand that I need to be the last one tweeting??!!)
  3. I’m a neglectful parent – – of my plants.  I have two peace lilies that I have killed and brought back to life almost thirty times because of dehydration.  I simply cannot remember to water the poor things.
  4. I have a weird fascination with near death experiences.  I read everything I can about them.  I have never died or been near death so far as I know, but yet I can’t get enough of the NDE’s.  Anybody wanna share?
  5. My wardrobe looks like I shop at my local senior center.  I have no  reasoning for why I tend to dress
    Notice the geriatric neckline and perfectly matching pink capris!

    Notice the geriatric neckline and perfectly matching pink capris!

    like a seventy year old Florida retiree, but my closet is basically a Golden Girls version of Garanimals.  When I accidentally buy something from the JCPenney juniors department, my hubby gets so turned on I have to beat him off with a stick (ok – – walking cane – – whatever)

  6. Everybody has weird useless talents, right? Well mine is for song lyrics.  I can sing along to every song on the radio if I have heard it at least three times.  This holds true for every genre and era of music.  If I’ve heard it, I can sing along with it.  I would estimate that I know approximately a thousand songs from beginning to end. (Wanna take one guess as to how I used to study for tests?) One important exception to this gift of mine – – rap music.  Can’t repeat even one line.  It HAS to have a melody for me to remember it.
  7. I have never watched even one episode of Desperate Housewives.  There.  I’ve said it.  It’s out in the open, and I feel strangely free.  Cleansed even.  God, the things I will admit to random faceless strangers!!

So let’s hear your most random factoid in the comments section, folks!

8 Responses

  1. I have a Cornell’s Intermediate Geography textbook from 1855 and it’s FASCINATING! Love looking through it.

  2. I went to the Covered Bridge Festival in Indiana, full of great crafting and antique stuff. What did I come with? A history book from the 1880’s and an English book from 1900. I spent a whole $2 that day. I’m with you and the antique school books. 🙂

  3. I had a “health” (as in sex) education textbook from the 50s. Which someone stole. It might be the only book that I’ve ever owned that I got stolen. It was very interesting. Amazing that they made it to next generation.

    I have a collection of joker playing cards. A large collection. Lets just say hundreds of different jokers are sitting quietly in photo albums in my otherwise normal house.

    Did I mention that I worked as a magic clown thru high school? I see sometimes will do a small show. Mostly, I’m trying to get my son to perform.

  4. And i forgot to mention, unless it was a song that I learned more than 30 years ago, I cannot remember it at all…..

  5. Looks like I’m not alone in loving dusty old yellow-paged things!! Think there is a convention??

    John – – love your clown factoid. So do I get a show if I come to sunny FL??

  6. Meant to add that I got the book up in Sylva – City Lights bookstore. Paid very little – condition isn’t the greatest, but that’s okay . 🙂

  7. Thanks for coming by today! The clothes thing was funny!
    Much Love

  8. Desperate Housewives? I’m still waiting to see my first episode of Sex in the City. Guess I’d better lay off all those episodes of Antiques Roadshow. : )

Comments are closed.

