I had to walk a mile just to vote!!

 

 

Now that I got your attention, I guess I had better admit that I VOLUNTARILY walked a mile to vote. 

Sometimes it is just so awesome to live and homeschool in the city!  Like this gorgeous, 65 degree day, when the boys and I were able to combine civics with PE today and head out on our trek to the polls.  Wanna come along?

 

Totally unneccesary pic from our front porch.  But doesn’t our neighbor across the street have a tidy yard?Totally unneccesary pic from our front porch.  But doesn't our neighbor across the street keep a tidy yard?

Gorgeous day for a stroll to the voting booths!
Gorgeous day for a stroll to the voting booths!

When even your shadow is heavy, it's time for a diet!

                       Geez, even my shadow needs to go on a diet!

Pre-Poll Scenery

Pre-Poll Scenery

hpim2148

We refused to be intimidated by the scary-looking poll watchers

All-too-common site in our neighborhood.  Even more incentive to vote…let’s go!

 

hpim2157

Think anybody on the ballot supports life imprisonment for littering? If so, they have MY vote!

Definitely getting closer!
Definitely getting closer!

Well, ok, if you insist.

Well, ok, if you insist.

 

No lines. Hmm...did everybody vote early?

No lines. Hmm...did everybody vote early?

H-T rocks the Kids Vote!

H-T rocks the Kids Vote!

 

Thought it might be inappropriate to take a pic of my actual ballot, so I finally had to turn off the camera.  But let me tell you – – that was one of the most worthwhile miles I have ever walked with my kids…
Don’t forget that every comment this month gets you an entry for the HP Printer, so let’s hear your election story in the comments section!
5 Responses

  1. I voted early… remember that morning when we had the snow flurries? Yep, I was standing outside waiting at the board of elections freezing. It was worth it. 🙂

  2. I vote by mail. No fuss, mo muss. I don’t know where my polling place is, but I guarantee it isn’t within a mile of my house. It takes me 15 minutes to get everywhere. This year, to celebrate the happy occasion, the family went to IHOP. That’s secret code for “the only way DH and I can get 2 words in edge-wise is if DS’ mouth is full of smiley face pancakes.”

  3. I early voted, because I don’t. do. lines, but if I had that beautiful neighborhood to walk through, I just might consider voting on election day next time around. We’ll see.

    Definitely life for littering . . . that should be your campaign slogan.

  4. I had to drive all the way to Raven Rock. Do you know where that is? Ask Mom.

  5. Karen – flurry voting still counts, so I hear!

    hjdong – IHOP is our very favorite way to celebrate anything!!

    Mom #1 – McCain really missed out on our snappy slogan, eh?

    Elizabath – Not a clue. I’ll definitely ask!

Comments are closed.

