The Downsides of Cyberschooling Geeklings

We will make a dress

Image by Brave Heart via Flickr

Yes, of course, everything normally goes picture perfect in Topsy-Techieland.  Our bandwidth speeds remain constant, our ideas come to us in Hi-Def, and little birds and mice dress us and feed us.

But once in a long while there is a cog in the wheel that doesn’t quite get oiled, and all Vista breaks loose.

(Need to tread lightly here, because I might need a certain geekling to guest post for me this week, and I really can’t afford to tick him off at the moment)

Anyhoo – – the unoiled cog can sometimes come in the form of a young man, who shall remain unnamed, who happens to download many, many programs and games into his computer each week.  It is possible – – I suppose – –  that the normal, average, 14-year-old checks thoroughly and completely the authenticity and safety of each and every program downloaded into their computer.  But I darn well doubt it.  So why should I be surprised that, at least in one respect, my 14-year-old is perfectly average??

Cut to … yesterday.

At the hour of his daily online classroom conference, the unnamed young man finds himself completely unable to type anything, navigate the web, or even cut off the computer because it is so dang ill.  Viruses have taken it over and are holding it for a ransom sum that not many 14-yr-olds have access to these days.

Even though I haven’t been in public school for a while, I would imagine that it is something akin to finding out that your school has suddenly burned down.  There is a sense of elation, at first, because you know you will miss tomorrow’s science test.  But when the truth sinks in you realize that your school was actually a pretty cool place, and you are downright bummed that it is gone. Add to this the realization that your school also happens to be your video arcade, your social hall, and your connection to the outside world, and you become more than a little bummed – – you are seriously pissed off.

Add to this frustration a mom who lays on guilt with “I told you that downloading that crap was going to kill your computer one day” and you’ve got an actual teenage meltdown on your hands. 

So, last night, instead of the 3,459 things I really needed to accomplish, I spent the night reformatting a certain young man’s computer.  Much was lost in the fray – – some key documents and programs that meant a lot to him.  But much was gained as well.  I truly believe that this geekling will be a LOT more careful about what and where he downloads from in the future.

I’d share more, but the little birds are getting impatient for me to let them dust the computer screen.  Ah, the life of a Topsy-Techie homeschooler….

Remember, every comment on Topsy-Techie this month gets you an automatic entry into the HP Printer giveaway!!

9 Responses

  1. Poor guy. At least it’s nice to know he enjoys his school so much! I love the idea of cyber school. And what a nice mom he has to reformat everything. Is he appreciating you more? 🙂

  2. Yep…teen son lost A LOT of music to something like this once. Had to actually get a new hard drive and install it.

  3. We are a one computer household (I know! How *do* we survive??), so if something like that were to happen the world as we knew it would cease to exist. Especially since I am not very techie. Lucky for your nameless child that his mom is so good at such things!

  4. Oh, my! Reformatting a hard drive is not any fun at all . . . I’m crossing my fingers that it never has to happen to me, but my Mom had to do it once (after a certain grandchild who shall also remain nameless) downloaded and played some super-fun games off the internet. She. lost. everything.

    Good thing grandmas never get mad. 😉 Because I would’ve been totally ticked off.

  5. Jena – – He ADORES his school. I love it that we found an online school that is such a good fit for him, social butterfly that he is. Not so sure about the appreciating me more, though. But at least he hasn’t rolled his eyes at me today. That’s gotta be good, right?

    Laura – – Hope these hard-learned lessons have their desired effect!

    FM – Ok, so my brain is burning trying to picture what a one computer household actually looks like. Take good care of that precious little guy (I’m referring to your ‘puter, of course)

    Mom1 – Makes you wonder just exactly how fun these viral games can be. They better have been FREAKIN’ fun!!

  6. O.k., I’m going to come to your son’s defense. I don’t download crap. My computer was fine. Vista came out and DH has had to reformat 3 times. Vista is the anti-Christ. O.k., I may be overstating the case a little. I don’t like Vista. Now, I’m understanding the case. You get the point.

  7. Luckily, I know how to delete viruses manually. All you have to do (usually) is go to the win32 system files, find out the virus’s name using the command prompt and a little annoying research, then delete it as fast as possible. But there are some other things in that dragon’s den of a win32 system folder that growl at you when you come near and switch on their glowing red eyes, so you had better be sure to delete the right things. These viruses, however, were annoying and bogged down my computer with their Freeze spell (12 MP) —- oops, sorry, playing a geeky rpg and typing at the same time again — *ahem* with their extreme kbs proccessing power needed to run them due to multiplying themselves autumatically. But anyway, if I were you I’d write break in case AND ONLY IN CASE of emergency on the win32 system folder.

  8. U-T – – that made your mom’s brain hurt, son. Snap out of it! Let it go! Let go and let God! Say the serenity prayer and let’s move forward now…

  9. OMG you ranked on him! I feel sorry for poor Uber… dont be so hard on him

Comments are closed.

