That All May Read…

First of all, an update:  The fleas have been banished from Topsy-Techieland, and all has returned to “normal.”  No, I still didn’t get to see ‘Quantum of Solace’, but we went shopping and I’m pretty sure hubby and the boys covertly got me some birthday stuff, so all is good.

Reading and writing is my life.  No, seriously.  I live in a world of words.  My entertainment, my job, and my thoughts are all based on words.  So words are a VERY big deal to me.

When I find out that someone is functionally illiterate it brings tears to my eyes.  I just feel like they are missing out on this whole segment of life.  Granted, many people throughout the ages made it through life just fine without reading a single word.  But in today’s society, we are connected by the written word.  The internet is still primarily a written medium.  There is a lot more visual and audial content on there than there used to be, but we still spend over 95% of our time on the web getting our info from written sources.

In a culture where we would rather text than talk, the written word doesn’t seem to be going out of style anytime soon. 

Library for the Blind adn Handicapped NJSo…for this reason, I am a HUGE fan of the National Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped. As we head into Thanksgiving, I think this is one organization that I feel especially thankful for.  If you don’t know much about the NLBPH, here is a quick rundown of the services they provide:

  • Full length books in both braille, large print, and recorded format free to members
  • Magazines (more than 70!)  in both braille, large print, and recorded format free to members
  • Playback equipment for all recorded material free to members
  • Braille books, magazines, and materials available on the web via web-braille
  • Assistive devices such as remote controls, breath switches, extension levers, and amplifiers available to those with special needs or requirements
  • Eligibility open to all who cannot use regular printed materials because of visual or physical impairment

Thanks to the NLBPH and your tax dollars, my son with dyslexia can take part in life to the fullest.  He can read anything and everything that he wants.  He is currently devouring Eragon, a book that would normally have sat on our bookshelf unopened because it was too “difficult” for him. 

Not now.  Now the world of words is completely free and available to him.  I couldn’t be more thankful. 

If you would like to find out more about the National Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped, go to their website. Or even better, volunteer with your state branch of the National Library.  Why?  So that ALL may read…

Remember – – every comment on a Topsy-Techie blog post this month earns you one entry into my November giveaway.  So comment away!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
6 Responses

  1. I can relate, Topsy. We have a couple people in our lives who are dyslexic (to varying degrees). Recorded books are a great alternative. We also get books on CD from the library for all of us to listen to on long road trips.

    We saw Quantum at Flat Rock Cinema. $5 each, no matter what time the show is and concessions are less expensive, too.

    Congrats on getting rid of the little buggers – the fleas, I mean!

  2. Yep, we head to FRC any chance we get! It is a movie-lovers dream come true (except when somebody really tall sits down at the table in front of you, of course!)

  3. I am so totally with you. My grandfather could never read or write. I never understood how anyone could go through life without what we consider today to be such basic skills . . . but times were so different then.

    Reading is such a love of mine, I couldn’t imagine not being able to read.

  4. This explains a lot. I had a friend who volunteered locally to record books for the blind. She was a vet so they had her reading a surgical text. She couldn’t figure out why a blind person would be preforming surgery but she didn’t want to insult them and ask.

  5. All three of us are Dyslexic. Scrabble is SO FUN at our house 😉 Cody absolutely loves audio books and the Eragon books are some of his favorites. He’s listened to them so many times he practically has them memorized.

    Your son may also like the Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan. The main character is dyslexic and ADHD.

  6. mom1 – I don’t care how bad it is, snuggling up with hot tea and a good book will ALWAYS make it better!

    HJD – I’ll be laughing all day over that one…

    FM – Thanks for the mention. I don’t think I’ve ever even heard of that series before.

Comments are closed.

