Who ARE You? And Where Did You COME From?

I’ve gotten really into Facebook lately.  It has been a hoot.  I have actually touched base with people I haven’t talked to since MIDDLE SCHOOL!!! 

But the funniest part of a social network like Facebook is that not only am I catching up with old friends and distant family, but I’m also having to look in the mirror a lot closer lately.  I mean with Facebook, you kind of have to define yourself in some way…tell other people who you are.

What has been surprising, though, is the double-takes I’ve been getting from people I haven’t seen in a long time.  You like what??!!  Your political views are which??!!  You actually say that??!!

Who ARE you??!! And where did you COME from??!!

Well, you see, when a mommy and a daddy love each other very much, they get really close and….

Oh.  Sorry.  You mean who am I really.

Ok.  Well, obviously, I’m not who I was twenty years ago.  I hope NO ONE is!  Yes, the changes have been gradual, and then major, and then gradual again. 

Life changes you.  I used to be a very black and white thinker.  My view of the Bible was literal.  My view of politics was “it’s my way or the highway.” My view of people was that they were either inherently good or inherently evil.  My view of blogging was that only politicos, Drudgites, or voyeurs did it.

So maybe I have changed a lot, come to think of it.  Having a husband who works with the marginalized and the forgotten changes you.  Having sons with neurological issues changes you.  Making friends who challenge your belief systems changes you.  Seeing the ridiculous antics of politicians on both the far right and the far left changes you.  And God knows that blogging changes you.blackwhitegrey

So I’m different than I was 20 years ago.  A lot less black and   white, and a LOT more grey. But I’m oh so happy to be grey.  So very, very happy. And that’s what matters, right?

How about you?….would people from 20 years ago still think you are the same person if they saw your Facebook?

Remember, every comment this month gets you another chance to win that HP Printer just in time for Christmas!!

Technorati Tags:
4 Responses

  1. No, I don’t think too many would recognize me from my middle school days… but my closest friends probably still would.

  2. Facebook has been amazing to me as well. I have been blessed to have been contacted by many that still recognize me from over 25 years ago! Life definitely does change you and I know it has been for the better for myself. I am no longer that black and white thinker. I used to think that was a good thing but now, for me at least, I believe that those are extremes. Now I try to be balanced in all that I think and do. It sure makes for a more peaceful and joyful life.

  3. I think young people in general are extreme thinkers.

    As you grow up and have experiences and meet different kinds of people and mature enough to realize that even the *different* ones really aren’t all that bad . . . it smooths the rough edges off of all that extremism.

    I know I’ve changed A LOT, but I’ve always been very individualistic and didn’t give a darn about what people think of me. In that respect, I haven’t changed . . . but the actual ME who doesn’t care . . . has changed a lot.

    Hopefully for the better. I sure think so.

  4. Wow – tough question. I had so many different friends when I was growing up, I’m sure most of them wouldn’t even recognize my face, let alone how I’ve changed on the inside.

    Happy Thanksgiving!!

Comments are closed.

