Wii-ve Got To Move It, Move It

The Topsies just celebrated our first anniversary with our Wii, and I’ll admit that in the latter part of the year, the poor little guy had been gathering a smidge of dust on his case.  But I wasn’t immune to those cool web ads and demos about the next best thing coming to Wii – – the Wii Fit!!

It has been months since I didn’t have to leave my top pants button unbuttoned, and that means it is HIGH TIME I got serious about getting fit – – and if some techie gadget is willing to motivate me toward my goals, then all the better.

I was hyped.  That is, of course, until I found out I was going to have to break into my neighbor’s house at 3:00 in the morning and steal theirs if I actually wanted one.  The blooming things were ridiculously hard to get your hands on.  Fortunately, there is nothing I like better than a challenge. 

Amazon.com was out of stock, of course, but offered to let you sign up for text messages when the Fits were restocked.  The first time they texted, my phone was out of power.  Missed it by a long shot.  A week later the text showed up during church.  I could barely concentrate on the rest of the service because I was so busy imagining our next sanctuary upgrade where we finally get free wi-fi alongside the hymnal racks in each pew.

A few days later, yet another text came while I was driving down the interstate.  Thank God I still don’t have net access on my phone, or this post would likely be written from the local mortuary. 

Finally, one fine afternoon, Amazon texted me that the Fits were in stock, and all I happened to be doing was laundry.  It was five minutes at the most between the time I got the text and the time I logged into Amazon only to discover that they were already sold out.  I was fairly sure that a personal boycott of Amazon by me and my family probably wasn’t going to bankrupt the company overnight, but the idea was definitely entertained.

But the very next day the little beep on my phone went off, and I  never even checked it.  I just knew.  I jumped up from the couch, ran down the hall, jumped over and across the bed, and bounded into the computer chair.  My fingers fairly flew as I typed in the letters. A-M-A-Z-O-N…   At this point, I figured that whether or not I got there in time, I had already burned quite a few calories in my attempt to order.  Bingo!!!  That was the lucky day that my online shopping cart finally got filled up with the Wii Fit.

The big box arrived a few days after Christmas.  Just in time to fulfill all my New Year’s resolutions and then some.  This is my year to move and groove it, and finally button my pants.  I can just feel it….

9 Responses

  1. Congrats! You should try an African safari next. ; )

    So…when do we get to see a pic of you in action? LOL

  2. That’s why I won’t buy another game system because mine always collect dust. I just don’t have the time to game even though I really enjoy it.

  3. Fun post! Think this calls for a video of you and maybe uber getting “fit”!!

  4. If you’ve read my blog at all, you know I experienced a Wii Fit injury, LOL, but I’m over it now.

    It’s so much fun! I’m not sure how much of a workout it is, but it’s FUN!

    Do the Hula Hoop (carefully), you won’t regret it!

  5. DS tried to convince me one day to let him sit on the couch and shake to remote for an hour to “jog.” Keeping your butt firmly planted on the couch does nothing to reduce your energy level; I could really care less how many starts you get. And seriously, you can’t think of anything better to do with half an hour. Obviously I can because it’s my butt that really needs the fit.

    • Altana2- You think an African Safari might help me button my pants? Then I’m all over it!!

      WineBlog – Welcome to TT-land! I’m determined that the only dust my WiiFit is going to gather this year is when it has to eat the dust I create from all this exercising!!

      BH – Absolutely! Just as soon as I’ve lost 20 pounds, you guys are in for a treat!

      Mom1 – Now how did I miss your Wii Fit injury?? I’ve got some backtracking to do at 2Moms!!

    • HJ – Your son is clever. My kids haven’t even thought of that yet!!

  6. Yes – when *will* we be seeing pix of you using your new toy?? Our friends who were up for Christmas brought theirs with them and we all had a blast playing it.

  7. I have been wanting one of these! Thanks for the post!

    I was thrilled to see another Hendersonville blogger leave a comment on my blog — thanks a bunch for introducing yourself, and I will be keeping an eye on yours as well! How fun!

Comments are closed.

