The Great Dilemmas Of Life

Uber has recently come into some money.  Well, (if Obama can quote scripture, then so can I) the truth is that he has “put off childish things” (1 Cor. 13), and has decided he doesn’t want most of his video games anymore.  He even cancelled his video game rental subscription!  Even though the Video Game Freeze of 2008 came on kind of gradually, I’m still not sure I was completely prepared for the Great Video Game Chuck-Off of 2009.

This was a kid who when he was five years old, could beat his dad at several Sega Genesis games. ( Good times, good times)  This was a kid whose online nickname was always something that involved the word ‘videogamer’ in between some random numbers.  Who used to ask for stuffed animal replicas of his favorite gaming characters. 

Where did that kid go???

These days, it’s all about social networking and portable applications.  If it can’t “Friend” you or let you send text messages while you pee, then what the heck good is it??!!  So after successfully selling most of his massive collection to the future “Videogamer66775”s of the world, he has pocketed some serious bucks, and is poring over iTouch websites and books. 

The good news is that Uber has kindly offered to let me go halvsies with him on the iTouch.  You see, I recently put off a couple childish things myself, and came into a few George Washington’s of my own.  And therein lies the dilemma…

I have been doing a bit of research on one of those handy dandy Roku devices that let you stream your Netflix and Amazon movies and tv shows right to your television.  I had almost put down my payment on the puppy when Uber offered me this alternative way to burn my bundle of clams. 

“You seriously would rather have some device that just lets you sit on the couch and watch movies once in a while rather than this cool portable gadget that lets you not only watch movies, but update your Facebook, help you find cool restaurants when you are out, and keep up with your RSS feeds??” he taunted.

I’m considering signing him up for the debate team.  He can be seriously persuasive when he wants to be.  So, I’ve given myself a one week cool-down period to decide where my pretty pennies will finally end up. 

Half of an iTouch or a whole Roku?  I may not sleep for a week.

itouch vs roku

 

Technorati Tags: ,,
11 Responses

  1. My DH has a touch. He got it free from a conference. Feel free to hate me now. I’ve just discovered that it plays music (did you know that?). Right into your ears, where your young child can’t hear what your listening too, as long as you don’t sing it out loud.

    It may change my life. If he keeps forgetting it at home.

  2. iTouch, oh lovely iTouch
    How I covet those tauntingly smooth buttons

  3. I got the iPod Touch for Christmas when it first came out and I have to say it’s the only gift I have actually used every day since receiving it. I listen to music and podcasts, watch videos, read books, Twitter, Facebook, Pandora, keep notes, surf the web, look up the weather, alarm clock, timer, write grocery lists (Grocery IQ), remote for iTunes on desktop, email, play games (actually kids play the games), figure out tips at restaurants, watch old episodes of Friends (Joost), multiplication flashcard program for older son, units converter… well, you get the idea. I would definitely go for the iPod Touch. 😉 Might be hard to share it though.

  4. Oh, did I mention there’s a free graphing calculator in the App Store among a zillion other things? I’ve only bought one app ($.99). The others I use are free.

  5. Karen – yay, someone’s on my side! Even if Topsy does decide to go for the Roku and gives up all hope of even getting a slight feel of that sleek, sexy (so I’m a techophile, so what??) touchscreen, I’m going to find a way to get the thing. From what I’ve read, it’s an extremely versatile tool – especially when jailbroken 😀

    • Holly – here’s to your hubby’s short term memory loss!

      Karen & Obi-Mom – Uber is going around the house doing the “your blogging buddies are on my side” happy dance.

      U-T – so will we need to work out a custody arrangement?

  6. My office can be the bathroom with my laptop & its wireless internet connection.

  7. Great graphic at the bottom of your post.

    Guess I’m totally out of it! Gotta update my gadgets!! Karen, you’ve made a convert out of me.

    • Holley – LOL…just LOL

      Laura – Yep, I’m thinking Apple is going to be calling Karen anyday now to be their next “face of the iTouch”

  8. Even though it’s still working just fine, I’ve already started a fund for a new iPod Touch once mine bites the dust. I don’t think I would be able to function well without it. LOL!

    If you have any questions about it, don’t hesitate to email me.

  9. Uhhhh . . . I know I’m late. I’m taking a moving break.

    iTouch hands down . . . but I don’t know if I could share one. It’s the kind of gift that has only one owner especially if y’all are technonerds over there (and I think you are).

Comments are closed.

