Friday’s Hardwired Homeschool Hints

fridays hardwired homeschool hints pic I’ve meant to do a blog post on this website for such a long time, and I kept putting it on the back burner…so this is the week to finally introduce you to…

I simply love the idea of creative, excited educators making videos about the subjects they are passionate about, and then offering those videos to students.  Being the parent of one VERY right-brained kiddo, and a left-brained one who still appreciates the power of a good video, this is a program we plan to utilize a lot in the near future.

I’ve glanced through several of the videos myself, and I think I might like to go back to high school tomorrow, if it could all be like this…

Brightstorm has video courses on subjects like:

  • **College Readiness
  • **Algebra I and II
  • **Literature
  • **Writing
  • **AP Biology
  • **AP US Government
  • **Geometry
  • **US History

Purchasing a course gives you one year access to the videos, so that students can work at their own pace through the lessons.  In addition to the videos, students have access to interactive quizzes, downloadable resources, and teacher-selected web resources.

For students who want to learn according to their own learning style, and in their own timing – – (throat clear) UNSCHOOLERS (throat clear) – – this is a lovely way to work independently through a subject.  But anyone, homeschooler or public schooler, could benefit from this learning tool.

So head over to Brightstorm, take the tour, and check out what they have to offer.  I’m telling you right now that you will be impressed…

 

4 Responses

  1. Oh, that sounds really good! Thanks.

  2. This looks really cool. I can always count on you to introduce me to new and useful things. Thank you!!

    If you’d like an award, I just nominated you. Go see my blog. 🙂

  3. Thanks for posting this! Having a kid who loves learning on his own (and right brained to boot), I’m always trying to help him find learning opportunities that work for him.

  4. Do you think it would be unwise to begin “unschooling” before actually finishing a school year?

Comments are closed.

