Cancun is Highly Overrated

I have officially come to the end of the first week of Topsy-Techie spring break.  No homeschooling.  No work.  No worries.  I barely even opened up my computer except to veg out to some older episodes of House and Everwood. 

There was lots of hiking and searching out waterfalls.  I offer the following evidence…

011 Wildcat Branch Falls

020 Long Shoals

027 Twin Falls

007 Issaqueena Falls

 

Now I know that for a lot of people a couple decades younger than myself, you haven’t HAD spring break unless you’ve hit Cancun, Lauderdale, Miami Beach, or Acapulco.  You also probably haven’t had spring break unless you’ve done jell-o shots off of a stranger’s belly or played enough drinking games to show up on Girls Gone Wild XIX. 

However, in my humble Topsy-Techie opinion, this spring break was almost perfect.  Aside from the aforementioned hiking, there was plenty of catching up on needed z’s, playing family games, eating out, watching the first season of Big Bang Theory together (priceless!), bowling, playing with the dogs, and reading, reading, reading. 

I say almost perfect because H-T and I came down with chest colds near the end of the week which caused us to miss out on a couple days of fun.  But all in all, a glorious week.

One week down.  One to go.  Golly, I love spring!!!

031

12 Responses

  1. I would take your Spring Break over Cancun any day. (Now, I wouldn’t mind visiting a smaller town in Mexico… do a homestay, language school, etc.) 😉

  2. It looks like you’re having a blast! Glad you’re finally getting some down time :-).

  3. Having just been sick whilst on vacation, I can sympathize with your chest cold predicament. Phooey, there should be a law.

    Sorry it took me so long to link to ya–I’ve been in Spring Coma for about 6 weeks. No sign of coming out of it yet. LOL.

    Have a fabulous time relaxing!

  4. Your Spring Break sounds like my ideal vacation! But then again, when my husband and I were married our honeymoon was ten days in Maine, so Cancun was never high on my list anyway.
    I wonder, is any unschooling sneaking its way in, while you and your family have some down time? 🙂

  5. Karen – Immersion makes the heart grow fonder, eh?

    Holly – Oh I am! I am!!

    Sarah – Spring Coma. Love that! Lordy, I hope no one tries to wake me up!!

    SAT (Yes, that is your new official moniker) – Funny you should ask…we have the most hilarious quotes bandying about lately. Things like “Oh Mom, let’s come back here and study this when we start unschooling.” Priceless!!

  6. We take the same sort of spring breaks. Lovely photos!

  7. SAT… I like it! I always wanted a nickname 🙂

  8. Don’t forget – those trips to Cancun et. al. are without parents to ruin the “fun”!

    I’m so old, that I can remember being the envy of my friends because my mom and I did a yearly road trip to southern California to stay with (dysfunctional) family and go to Disneyland. Nowadays, that would be the equivalent of spending a week in a nursing home ;D

    Sorry about the chest cold, but it looks like you guys have been having a blast! And I’m wishing we had some of your sunshine!

  9. It’s so beautiful there!

  10. Looks like so much fun. Do your guys realize how fortunate they are to have parents that love the outdoors and keep them so engaged?

  11. Oh beautiful! Can you tell me where that was? That’s our kind of place!

    (blogwritingcourse)

  12. Now that’s my kind of spring break! Love the pictures. Thanks for sharing them with all of us. 🙂

Comments are closed.

