Lowcountry Lollygagging

The Topsies went on vacation!  Because the first week of May is the perfect time to visit the South Carolina coast, and it also happens to be the time of Uber’s birthday, we often head down to the lowcountry for a weekend this time of year.

This time around, we decided to head somewhere that the boys had never been before…Charleston!  R-T and I had gone there on our honeymoon, but had unwisely chosen the middle of the summer to visit, and between 105 degree daily temps and me passing out from the heat a couple of times, it wasn’t a visit to brag about.

This vacation, however, was probably one of the best our family has ever experienced.  The weather was perfect, everything we saw was magnificent, and Uber’s 15th birthday was full of carriage rides, sea breezes, and the most magnificent tree in the world.

Oh, and did I mention boating with alligators???

Don’t believe me?  Check out this slideshow for proof…

4 Responses

  1. That sounds so wonderful – well, except for the alligator part; a few years ago we visited Myrtle Beach, South Carolina (in the off-season, soooo much better than those hot family trips I recall from when I was young!), and on a visit to Huntington Beach state park, my husband and I saw alligators lounging everywhere – too close for comfort, although we loved the park still.
    BTW, I couldn’t view the YouTube video you have up in this post, apparently it is a ‘private’ video? That’s what it says, anyway.
    Glad your trip was a good one!
    🙂
    K

  2. Thanks, Topsy, what a beautiful trip! Angel Oak officially makes my list of Places I Must See Soon…

  3. Looks like y’all had a great time. Don’t you just love VACATION!!!

  4. SAT – – We LOVE Huntington Beach…we’ve been there several times, and so I know exactly what you mean about being able to see the gators close up. And isn’t the Huntington “castle” fun to walk through??

    Karen – – You really must! It is beyond cool!!

    Mom1 – – Oh if I only had words…

Comments are closed.

