He Has Always Been A Star In My Book

I mentioned in my last blog post that Uber recently celebrated a birthday.  His 15th.  For those of you with kids under ten, let me assure you that YES, that really does make you feel old. 

Uber has always been a special kiddo.  He knew all his colors when he was eighteen months old.  He could read a newspaper when he was three years old.  He was doing simple algebra equations at age seven.  He has taught himself how to do almost anything he wants with a computer.

He has also dealt incredibly bravely with a difficult neurological disorder since he was five years old.  He has befriended everyone he has ever met. He has volunteered many hours of his time to help out various charities and non-profits.  He selflessly acts as an unpaid member of the Geek Squad for all his friends and family who hit computer snafus.

Can you tell I’m a bit of a proud mama?  I feel like I have bragging rights.  But apparently I’m not the only one who sees just how special he is.

Today, he received an incredible gift from his girlfriend.  She had a star named for him in honor of his birthday.  A star!!  I thought that only happened in the movies!! 

I’ve been thinking about it all afternoon and I’ve come to the conclusion that no matter what happens between himself and this thoughtful young lady in the future, he will never be able to look up into the celestial beyond without remembering that he is special enough to have his name in “lights.” 

What more could a mom ask for her son’s 15th birthday??

3 Responses

  1. He’s a star and so is his mom.

  2. HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY, Uber!!!!

    What a touching gift. I know exactly how you feel and all I can do is offer my condolences. It gets worse with each coming year.

  3. Elizabeth – – yeah, but nobody’s busy naming a star after ME, now are they?? 😉

    Mom1 – – thanks for the condolences. I definitely need them now and again…(sigh)

Comments are closed.

