A Little Slow On The Uptake

I fancy myself fairly web-savvy…I do!  I’ve had my hand in the waters of Twitter, Facebook, MySpace, and multiple blogging networks for quite a while now.  But I swear that as fast as I navigate those, there seem to be hundreds more sites out there mocking me from the banks.

You guys know that I do online marketing for a homeschool curriculum company, right?  Well, that company has a new chief marketing manager who is on the pulse of what sites are necessary to be plugged into…so I’m being introduced to things like:  LinkedIn, WeFollow, PeoplePond. 

Yikes! 

There is nothing like the internet for creating a sense of inadequacy.  How can I possibly ever keep up???

Well, perhaps having “keeping up” be part of my job description helps, I guess. 

What are your feelings?  Do you feel like you are staying ahead of the curve of the social networking scene, or constantly doggie paddling to keep up?

 

10 Responses

  1. Probably under the don’t care that much, not enough time in the day. DH has to keep up more; he kind of finds it a chore. I guess this makes us both old :-).

  2. This is not a question that I’ll have trouble answering, with a blog named The Stone Age Techie 🙂

    Seriously, though, I have a pretty good handle on Blogger and Facebook, and I haven’t given Twitter a thought because I am so verbose that I know I could never come up with an under-200-character statement (or whatever it is) to describe what I am doing right now.

  3. I actually have trouble with my blog very regularly and I don’t Facebook, MySpace, or Twitter . . . so I guess keeping up is not really a priority of mine, LOL. Sorry.

    But good luck and Bully for you, LOL.

  4. Oh my goodness, NO! I don’t think I care to keep up. I am so happy in my little corner of the blogworld and old fashioned email that all of that other stuff just passes me by……

    Hey, I have another new blog! I am trying to find some hacks to modify it to make it look better. Know where I can find some stuff? (www.thegoodybox.blogspot.com)

    Janet
    (from a previous BWC)

  5. Hi again! I need HELP! On my new blog
    ( http://www.thegoodybox.blogspot.com ) I don’t know how to get rid of a line just below the post title. It says, undefined, undefined, undefined.

    Also, I don’t know how to get rid of the line at the bottom that says, read rest of entry. I don’t want that there. I’d like my blog to be like my homeschool blog at the bottom.

    Can you help?

    Thank you,
    Janet

  6. It is tough. I’ll have to take a look at a couple of those you mentioned that I haven’t heard of. You do have to be picky re which ones you go with – just not enough hours in the day for all of them!

  7. I think you just have to stick with a couple and be active with them. You can have the others also, but it is very time consuming to interact on everything each day. My favorites are blogging and twitter – and I do facebook fairly often as well.

  8. Oh no! Now I’m behind!

    OK, really I just participate in Facebook and Twitter as well as my blog stuff. I just can’t do any more than that. I would get swivel-chair spread!

  9. I think I’m about as tech savvy as I want to be. Of course, this is coming from a woman who has never sent a text message, and only gives out her cell number to people who can understand the concept that they’d better be on fire before they call me on it, ’cause if I’m out, I don’t want to be called!

  10. Ok, so I can see you all are basically saying that I am out here on my own in LA-LA land. So no matter how many of these crazy networks I join, you won’t be following me…is that the gist? Well then, I guess I will just have to brag enough about them to FORCE you all to follow me into the deep unknown of social networking!! ((evil nefarious laugh))

Comments are closed.

