Something Weird This Way Comes

So something eerie has happened to my two sons this week.  This whole interest-led, unstructured approach to learning has had an incredibly strange backlash-effect.

My sons started SETTING THEIR ALARM CLOCKS.  And even weirder, Uber got up three mornings this week BEFORE his alarm clock went off.  Do you know why??

He said he wanted to go…wait for it… JOGGING!!!

That’s right.  You heard me.  My techno-geek son decided to get up before 7 a.m., grab his breakfast, put on his sweats, and JOG through the neighborhood.

So I barely was recuperated from the shock of that, when this morning, I noticed that Uber was sleeping in.  Didn’t blame him a bit.  But I heard a noise coming from the bathroom.  What in the heck??!!

It was H-T.  Getting dressed to go JOGGING.  At 7:00 in the MORNING!!  It seems that he thought brother’s idea was “pretty cool,” and decided to try it for himself.

So, am I to take it that if I remove the structure from their learning, that they are craving to instill it somewhere else?? 

Jena???  Karen???  Sarah??? 

SOMEBODY help me figure out who these young men are and what they did with my sons, please!!

 

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

7 Responses

  1. Zoe is the SAME WAY! on days I really just want a day off…she doesn’t allow it…gotta love it! Aubrey needs a gentle push. 🙂

    • Joy – when mine were younger, and I needed a “break”, I would sit down in one of their desks, and say “today is your turn to teach.” And, by golly, they would! Great memories…

  2. That’s it. I will never try unschooling. Like I don’t have enough trouble getting James to sleep. And everyone promises that it’s the teen years he will sleep in. I’m counting on that.

    • Holly – I think H-T was probably a good eight years old before he slept past 5:30 in the morning. I’m pretty sure he and the sun had an ongoing competition. Let me tell you…puberty changes more than a few things!! 😉

  3. Oh, I think this is just the best thing I’ve heard all day! I’m putting on my radical unschooler thinking cap… Maybe they are craving structure, but the really cool thing here is that it is their own structure, their own decision.

    Did I ever tell you about the near-divorce fight hubby and I had just before we started this wild ride of homeschooling? He asked me, ‘when does Luke learn that the world works on a SCHEDULE?!?’ and I responded, loudly although you’ll have to imagine that because I don’t want to write in all caps, ‘say he decides he wants to learn how to make donuts – he calls up his favorite bakery, says hey, I want to learn how to make donuts, can I work for you?… and the baker says, yes – be here at 4AM. NOW he knows the world works on a schedule!!!’

    I think this is Uber and Hyper’s donut shop.

    🙂

  4. Of all the things teen boys could decide to try on their own, jogging is a good pick!

  5. Seriously? Up at 7 AM? Jogging?

    Wow. There’s obviously something great going on over there. When you figure out what it is . . . box it up and send me some. 😉

Comments are closed.

