Field Trip Wars – Round Two

Firefly Mom really pulled out all the guns for her last homeschool field trip, and even got a picture of a big old pile of bear poo.  I threw up the white flag on that one.

But I wasn’t daunted for long.  I secretly knew that I had a two day mini-vacay coming up that included two full 24-hour-periods of educational goodness.  That getaway took place this past weekend, and I feel that I just might have this next round in the palm of my camera-happy hand!

I had heard through the grapevine that the five main Southeastern Native American tribes were coming together to celebrate their culture and arts in the Cherokee reservation that is located less than two hours from home.  And oh what a celebration it was!

There were displays of every possible kind of native craft including basket-making, dream-catchers, blowguns, corn-husk dolls, slate art, masks, and gourd art.  H-T was especially taken with the antique bow and arrow collection, and Uber took his time poring over the tomahawks.

The night schedule of activities at the Fairground was slotted with Tribal Dancing Competitions, so we had some time to fill before then.  We headed a few blocks south of the fairground to take in the sights and sounds at the Museum of the Cherokee Indian.  This was compelling combination of static and interactive displays about the history of the Cherokee, and I’ll admit that by the time we got to the part where the Cherokee chiefs traveled all the way to England to plead for a treaty of peace between themselves and the European settlements, I was boo-hooing like a lost child in a department store! 

I seriously barely made it through the Trail of Tears display!!  Such injustice!!!

Thank goodness the night’s festivities were a lot more upbeat, and included some great competitive dancing fun between the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Creek, and Seminole tribes.

I won’t share the X-rated commentary my hubby was giving during this dance called “The Beaver Catcher”.  But I was seriously LMAO throughout the whole performance (probably NOT the reaction they were hoping for!)

H-T even got to get up on stage when they asked for volunteers for a dance called the “Tick Dance.”  He was on cloud nine the rest of the weekend after getting to shake his groove thing with some true Native Americans!!

But the weekend wasn’t ALL steeped in history…we made plenty of nature-based memories as well.  You’ve probably already heard me brag plenty of times of all that our Western North Carolina mountains have to offer, but here is some more pictorial proof….

005 

026

027

030

040

070

 

055 

112

I’m thinking that Firefly Mom is quaking in her field-trip planning boots, right about now…

10 Responses

  1. Yeah, but where’s the poop? You know it had to be asked. I have a 7 yo boy.

    If vacations are field trips, then I’m throwing my hat into this ring and saying, just wait. But, it’s going to be a wait. So, just wait. A while.

    • Holly – – I tried and tried to get one of the Native Americans to help me find some bear poo, but they just looked at me funny. Sigh.

      FM – – Re: the commentary…the dance was called the “BEAVER Catcher”…come on…take it from there…

  2. Yeah, where *is* the poop?? Oh, right – it’s on my blog ;D

    A tomohawk with a heart in it? Is it a girlie tomohawk? And what was Tim’s commentary? Inquiring (dirty) minds want to know…

    OK, topsy…this one goes to you!

    But I fully expect to see something to top the bear poop in your next post…

  3. Very cool. And I’d have had to laugh at the ‘Beaver Catcher’ too.

  4. Very impressive field trip, I must say! And nice photos.

    I don’t know, I think even with the heart in the tomahawk, Uber still manages to look a bit fierce 😉

    • Amy – I’ll tell him you said so…he’ll be thrilled!

      Lisa – glad I’m not alone in my warped little world! 😉

  5. Wow! What awesome photos. That was a mini-vacation?

    I don’t know if I could handle a full fledged trip with y’all. Down here vacations are spent lazying around on the beach . . . I better find some things that have to do with LEARNING SOMETHING or they’ll take away my homeschooling Mom card, LOL.

    Looks like lots of fun! I’ve GOT to hear more about that Beaver Catcher!

  6. Think I’ll do virtual field trips reading about yours!!

    • Mom1 – Sorry, the Beaver Catcher must die and be buried now. (At least until my husband reads my blog post and starts in again!)

      Laura – Feel free, but knowing you, you’ll make your way to these spots before long!

  7. Oh my gosh, she’s not even telling you the funniest parts about all of that dance. I looked around and saw Native Americans rolling with laughter too!!

Comments are closed.

