Friday’s Hardwired Homeschool Hints: Virtual Field Trips

fridays hardwired homeschool hints pic So, you might have noticed that I’ve been a slight bit field-trip obsessed on my blog lately.  Nothing like a little competition to get those writing juices flowing, eh?

So I figured the field trip fetish might as well spill over into this week’s HHH post, where we will look at some of the best websites and tools for heading out on “Virtual Field Trips.”

(Note to Mom1: As Barry Manilow would say. “This one’s for you”)

  • One of the coolest collections I’ve come across in weeks has to be the digital collection of historical documents at the Library of Congress website.  I mean, come on…when is the last time you saw the actual document of the argument of John Quincy Adams before the Supreme Court in the case of the slaves of the Amistad?!  Other examples of historical items you can see up close and personal include: actual copies of presidential inaugurations, posters from the New Deal era, photographs from the Chicago Daily News during the early 1900’s, copies of scrapbooks kept during the suffrage movement, and much, much more.  That’s one virtual field trip that could keep me busy from now till next year!
  • The JASON Mission Center – I worked closely with the JASON project for a while, and let me tell you, it is impressive.  I don’t know of anything else on the web like it…and the best part?  It is FREE!! JASON offers incredibly interactive science explorations from the closest computer chair.  The three units they have available right now are Energy, Ecology, and Weather.
  • Museum of Fine Arts, Boston – Choose from over 60 different audio tours of various pieces of art history!
  • Windows into Wonderland – beautiful electronic field trips put together by the National Park Service.  Explore everything from the wolves of Yellowstone to the geysers.
  • Listening Adventures from Carnegie Hall – I’m an orchestra junkie.  I can’t play a single orchestral instrument (unless the recorder counts), but I get to as many symphonic concerts as absolutely possible.  So I’m a sucker for a musical field trip like these explorations put together by Carnegie Hall.
  • Another thing I am a sucker for in any form is marine exhibits.  I could camp out for days at any aquarium.  So I happen to think that the virtual tour at ReefHQ Aquarium is pretty awesome.

Do you have any other favorite field trips that can be taken without burning an ounce of gasoline or waiting even one minute in a line for tickets?  Share your fave virtual field trips in the comments!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

2 Responses

  1. OMG those are awesome. The orchestra website is sheer heaven. I can’t compete. Thanks a bunch!

  2. Once again you have a list of fabulous places that I will spend the next few hours exploring! Too bad I can’t use any of these against you in our challenge ;D

    Have you checked out http://www.toadhaven.com/ ? This woman’s field trips would leave us both in the dust!

Comments are closed.

