Friday’s Hardwired Homeschool Hints: Ancient History

fridays hardwired homeschool hints 150X150 One of the coolest aspects of this interest-led learning gig is that I get to do internet research.  Have I mentioned that doing internet research is right up there with imbibing a well-prepared mojito for me?  Love, love, LOVE it!

So when Uber wanted me to find some good sources of info on Ancient Greece, I was all over that like skin on a potato.  And of course Googling Ancient Greece takes you to sites that aren’t just about Ancient Greece, but Ancient Rome, and then those sites lead you to checking out Ancient China, and the next thing you know you’ve got enough fodder for a whole HHH post! 

So if your “free form scholar” ever asks you for info on Ancient History, you are good to go, thanks to my rampant internet research addiction.

As far as I’m concerned, it is impossible to study history of any kind without a good movie or two to supplement the often dry text of historical books, so be sure to stop by Historybusters for a complete list of history-related movies catalogued by era and age/grade appropriateness.  We even discovered a great documentary series on Ancient Greece that is available on Netflix Instant Watch!

Probably everyone has used Mr. Dowling’s great “Browse the World” site, I suppose.  But I’m listing it for any newbie homeschoolers out there…just in case!

What is ancient history without a timeline, and in my opinion, this is one of the most comprehensive ones, and links you to tons of great resources and images of whatever you are studying.

When the kids were younger, we always included some great historical fiction and nonfiction books to round out our studies of different periods and eras.  A Book in Time offers a great reading list of historical books for kids.

If you have some favorite Ancient History tools to tell about, by all means list them in the comments!

5 Responses

  1. I’ve not heard of “Browse the World”, so I’m glad I found your post today! We are about to transition to Medieval times, but I always like new links.

  2. Thanks for the History Busters site! It will certainly help me locate DVDs on Netflix!

  3. Never heard of Browse the World… I’m checking it out at the first opportunity!
    I wonder if you or the boys have ever read about Percy Jackson and the Olympians? It’s a series of books about a modern-day kid who happens to be the son of Poseidon… not history by any means, but I know a lot more about the pantheon of Greek Gods than I did before I read them, and Luke just laughed his way through the first one, The Lightning Thief, this week. They might be interesting from a mythology/Greek Gods perspective.
    Thanks for all the great links, as usual!

  4. Wendy – – Browse the World is DEFINITELY worth a visit. It is a treasure trove of good info for kids.

    Angela – – LOVE that one! Netflix is the homeschoolers crack, isn’t it??

    SAT – – Heading over right now to the library website to see if they have that series. Thanks for the heads up!

  5. Yay for you and your internet research! There’s a lot here I can’t wait to sink my teeth into. Thanks for the post

Comments are closed.

