Are You a Buccaneer Scholar?

I see those hands.

We are pretty proud of our doesn’t-fit-in-the-box kind of learning, aren’t we?  Knowing that no matter how much someone tells us “how” to do it, we are probably always going to forge our own path and create our own techniques.  (cue self-satisfied smiles)

I LOVE being a buccaneer…well, except for the fact that I don’t look good in an eye patch.

Other than that, though, I’m so excited to be going on this brand new unschooling adventure this year.  I get almost giddy watching my oldest son make incredible leaps and bounds in his programming skills, and seeing my youngest son take risks and try out chemistry experiments completely on his own! 

It’s thrilling, I tell you!

You know who would probably agree with me?  James Bach.  If you don’t know who James is, it’s time to get with the program, because James actually COINED the phrase “Buccaneer Scholar,” and has even written a great new book called Secrets of a Buccaneer Scholar, which describes how he found success in a highly technical field without the benefit or burden of a conventional education.

If you haven’t read this book, you need to, and you might not even have to buy it because I am giving away a copy over at SecularHomeschool.com this month!!  (As well as other great giveaways).  So stop by and enter, or head to Amazon via my link if you need to get your hands on it immediately.

And then keep right on buccaneering out there in homeschool land, OK??

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

5 Responses

  1. That sounds like a good book. I’m so glad y’all found a learning method that WORKS. That’s all that matters in my opinion. Books, no books, computers, trees, water . . .. however you learn . . . you learn.

  2. Woo hoo! Unschooling rocks!

    Thank you for your kind words. Let’s support each other against the “Spanish Armada” of schoolists who think we can’t live without them.

  3. I think they have an interview with him in the Nov/Dec issue of HEM! And don’t worry about the eye patch thing – you can always make due with a parrot ;D

  4. Buccaneer Scholar, I like the sound of that!
    And, I am really glad that your unschooling experiment is going well. I’d be surprised if it wasn’t, what with your two smart, creative guys (and of course their smart, creative parents 🙂
    K

    • Ok, ya’ll. If you like the way the book sounds, then head your cute little hineys over to SecularHomeschool.com and get registered so you can enter…I’ll keep the light on for you! 😉

Comments are closed.

