Awww…They’re Human Again

Parthenon from west

Image via Wikipedia

So yesterday, I gave into the whine that had been building up, and gave it free rein.

But today, I have been privileged to sit on the sidelines and watch and listen as my two wonderful young men have made their plans for learning today.  Thanks to the suggestion of Stone-Age Techie, we have begun to read aloud the first in the Percy Jackson series to supplement Uber’s current interest in Ancient Greek culture.

This read-aloud has led to a natural interest on H-T’s part in Ancient Greece as well – – especially the different gods and their attributes. So, the boys have added a documentary on Ancient Greece to the Instant Watch queue on Netflix.  Then, together (yes I said TOGETHER), they have decided to watch that documentary over the network, on our new BluRay player.

Then, as I have sat hear quietly eavesdropping from the bedroom, my two free-form scholars have begun watching and making the most awesome comments back and forth about things like airborne illnesses, Sparta, and the Coliseum.  It is a beautiful thing to listen to!

So I think at least PART of the prescription for the illness that is teenage-dom must be taking charge of one’s own education.  Perhaps it meets some of the cravings for independence that are so common at that age.  Whatever the reason, I’m feeling pretty doggone happy about this educational experiment.

For today, I have my young men back.  And I have unschooling to thank.

 

p.s. If you haven’t already, don’t forget to head back to Monday’s Topsy-Techie birthday giveaway to enter for a chance to win the Martha Stewart cake decorating kit!

 

3 Responses

  1. Seriously? James isn’t human yet. I’m not ready to barely get him human and then have him end up a teenager. Please, allow my delusions of grandeur to remain intact for a while.

    I mean, I’m glad you’re enjoying your kids again.

  2. I’m glad they’ve given you a reprieve. I hope the next “flair-up” is far far FAR into the future.

  3. I’m glad you all are enjoying Percy Jackson! We haven’t read them out loud, I love that you do that even with teenagers… gives me hope for the future! (Owen is too young for these books yet, that is why we haven’t read them aloud.)
    It is nice to know that, at least *some* of the time, teens can still be human. In a house where the nine-year-old practices his eye-rolling on an hourly basis, at least some days, that too gives me hope for the future 🙂
    And, thanks for the linky love!

Comments are closed.

