Where the Wired Things Are

So I thought I would give you an update on our unschooling adventure and how that’s going.  As you can guess, even our unschooling tends toward the techie. 

Uber is busily learning Java and studying artificial intelligence.  He’s also considering joining a local group that meets regularly to discuss how Linux can take over the world. 

H-T is writing a book.  I KNOW!! I WAS SO EXCITED TOO!! Until I realized the book is based on the life of a video game character.  But hey, he’s WRITING A BOOK.  Beggars will NOT be choosers in this house.  And anyway, the book is actually pretty darn good so far.  I’m actually invested enough to care about this video game persona! 

Other, slightly non-techie pursuits include their music lessons Canterbury Tales, Woodcut 1484(Uber’s taking piano and H-T’s taking guitar), we’re reading through the Canterbury Tales (thanks to Holly!) and studying a bit of Medieval History, and they are also getting ready to take part in Drama Club, where the spring play happens to be Robin Hood – – how serendipitous!  They also are both doing well with their math studies, which Uber takes on YourTeacher.com, and H-T uses Time4Learning

Overall, this has been an amazingly successful experiment, so far.  I don’t think I could have done it when the boys were in their elementary years…but interest-led learning is SO VERY PERFECT for the middle and high school years!!

3 Responses

  1. Sounds like it’s all going well. A book is a book, color me impressed.

    I’m glad you’re enjoying the book and I can’t wait to see pictures of the play.

  2. Glad you are all enjoying it 🙂

    Is anyone still getting up in the ridiculous early AM to jog, or has that phase run its course? (Heh, sorry about the pun.)

    • Holly – we are LOVING the book! I can’t believe how “into it” the boys have gotten!

      SAT – winter put a hiatus on all early a.m. jogging…now it’s back to me having to basically start up a foghorn to get them out of bed in the a.m. 😉

Comments are closed.

