Darling I Love You, But Give Me Main St. USA

I’m such a tree-hugger at heart, so it is really kind of weird to me that I didn’t end up out in the very edge of the boonies somewhere in a little cottage with a hammock on the front porch and a satellite dish larger than the living room just beyond the tree line.

citylife But I didn’t.  Instead, I’ve spent my entired married life living inside the limits of three different cities.  For the last fifteen years, we’ve lived within walking distance of our downtown, which isn’t a huge deal because the Main St. stretches out only about 9 city blocks, but it is the city, nevertheless. 

What’s even weirder is how much I have grown to enjoy city living.  For many of you, I’m sure that’s hard to comprehend, but let me tell you right now, it has its advantages…

  • Garbage pick-up – – hey…don’t underestimate the importance of having a nice gentleman not only pick up your weekly refuse, but scrape a half-flattened possum off the street in front of your house before it even begins to waft into your intake vents
  • Sidewalks – – those lovely flat sections of concrete that make you ALMOST forget that live at an altitude of 3,000 feet because all those hills in your neighborhood are actually walkable!
  • Snow Removal – – living in the city means (usually) that ours is one of the first roads to get scraped after a blizzard.  Now granted, the scraping usually happens just AFTER we clean the edge of our driveway and there is now a three-foot wall of snow to re-shovel, but nevertheless…it IS scraped
  • Book Access – – not everyone can say that they live a half mile from their county library, now can they??  An escapist afternoon through the latest stack of new fiction is barely a ten minute walk.

And the biggest boon of all?  The most adorable coffee house just opened up not three blocks from us.  Uber has breakfasted there for basically a week straight, and I’ve already spent two fun afternoons with friends cozied up on their sun porch with a steaming cup of chamomile-strawberry tea. 

There is just something about living in the city that makes you feel like you are “part of something.”  It’s an experience I never quite had at any of my homes in the country growing up.  Now don’t get me wrong…I love the fact that there are around 100 waterfalls within a 100 mile radius, and I take advantage of enjoying them whenever possible, but for day to day living, I guess I’m just a city girl after all.

10 Responses

  1. I hear you We live in a subdivision but inside the town limits. I love all the things you mentioned. We don’t have the sidewalks though. But I am 1 mile from a wonderful new library and a post office. The guy that runs the plows must live in my neighborhood because it is promptly scraped. And I love trash pickup. My parents haul their trash to the dumpsters. No thank you! Especially in the diaper years!!

  2. James would love to live in a city. He’s a city boy through and through, although the closest he’s come is a not so nice subdivision we left when he was 3.

    We do have trash pick up (seriously, people live without trash pick up?). But no sidewalks. I actually won’t let James walk on the street. We had a fatal hit and run just down the street this year.

    We don’t have snow.

    Library, 10 minute walk, 7 minute drive. 6 of one, half dozen of the other.

    Not every can claim a collection of rattlesnake tails, ya know ;-).

  3. When we go into a city – and we’ve been in some good ones in the past year – my 9-year-old and I always say, ‘it’d be cool to live in the city.’ And hubby and the 5-year-old always say, ‘no way!’

    So, I guess suburbia is where we’ll stay, with the library a 10-minute drive and a big bunch of woods right behind the house.

    I am just a tad jealous, especially about the coffee house!
    🙂

  4. See – I need to move closer to you! We have sidewalks, trash service, and (generally) snow removal – but we don’t live within easy walking distance of anything. Well, except Dairy Queen. If I could have a little plot within walking distance of, well, anything of use, I would be a very happy girl!

  5. All I can say is it’s a darn good thing I don’t live within walking distance of the coffee house you refer to (Nib’s)! I’d be there way too often!!

  6. When Jay and I were first married, we literally lived on Main Street of a small town. I’m really a country girl at heart, so there were things I couldn’t get used to…but there were advantages. Everything was in walking distance. Nothing beats getting to the library that fast!

    • Kristen – – a post office WOULD be handy. I actually have to drive about five minutes to get to one of those. (the torture!)

      Holly – – oh yes, if you don’t live in the city limits here you either have to pay for private trash pick-up or take your trash/recycle to the county landfill yourself. Can you imagine??

      SAT & Laura – – the coffee house is probably going to be the death of our monthly budget, but it is SO cozy!

      FM – – I’ve been saying this for a long time now…

      Amy – – us country girls can be city-ied up right quick-like 😉

  7. Sounds like a wonderful town. I have also always been on the edge of should we live in the country with land or walking distance from everything. It would be great to just walk down the street to a library or coffee shop.
    Blessings
    Diane

  8. We’re looking to rent right downtown when we move, at least for the first couple of months. I love our little city neighborhood here, but right down among the high-rises (and a block or two from the farmer’s market) should be a nice new diversion. Who knows, maybe we’ll even make it permanent.

    • Obi-Mom – – we have a curb market (a small-town version of a farmer’s market) a few blocks away as well, and so I know of which I speak…buy one of those little silver pull carts as soon as you move. You WILL buy more than you think you will and unless you have one of those pull cart thingies, you WILL basically have a torn shoulder ligament from trying to haul it all home by hand!! 😉

Comments are closed.

