Curtains, please.

When I first began blogging in January of 2008, it was sort of an “experiment.”  I was taking a Blog Writing Course, and knew that I wanted to write about something.  That “something” seemed most naturally to be our tech-infused life.  So Topsy-Techie was born!!

It’s amazing how many things change in just two years.  We went from cyber-crazed homeschoolers to unschoolers.  Our passion for technology, while certainly still active, has taken a sort of backseat to spending time with new friends, becoming active in our local homeschooling group, and adventuring in the outdoors.  I went from working around five hours a week, to closer to twenty-five, which left me not quite as excited about spending MORE time on my laptop when I clocked out for the day. 

I’ve gotten to the point where I don’t feel so much Topsy-Techie, as I do just “Topsy” most days.  And I kinda feel like I’ve said all I have to say about our digital life.  I’m sort of wanting to move in a new direction with my blogging, and I don’t even yet know what direction that will be…but that is the exciting part!!!

I guess what I’m beating around the bush about is that I have decided to put Topsy-Techie on the shelf for now.  The most difficult part of that decision is that this blog is where I have met some of my dearest cyber-buddies.  You know who you are.  You know more about my life than 80% of my family members, and probably visa versa.  I have loved sharing my ups and downs, my warped sense of humor, and my techie tips with you.  I have truly felt blessed by your virtual laughter and encouragement and reality checks. 

I will definitely still be dropping by your necks of the woods to keep up with your goings on.  And I will still be accessible.  Some of you are already friends with me on Facebook.  Others of you bump into me most days at my website, SecularHomeschool.com.  And for everything else, there is always email

I can’t thank you enough for letting me share myself, Resistant-Techie, Uber-Techie, and Hyper-Techie with you these last 2+ years.  You have made this more than just a BLOG for me – – you have made it a community. 

I will never forget this Topsy-Techie experience……………

curtains.png

9 Responses

  1. Aw. It’s been a great run.

  2. Hey, you can’t do that! You didn’t ask me, you know. 🙂 Oh well, OK. I understand. This blogging thing is a lot of fun, but you’re right, things can take a new direction, and when it’s time to hang it up, it’s time to hang it up. So profound.

    And you have a great thing going at Secular Homeschool, so I’m sure it will be fun to focus on that and anything new you might do. So keep us posted!!

    I’m so glad you started this blog, because that’s how I met you and I think you’re awesome. 🙂

  3. Noooooooooo.

  4. It has been a joy to get to know you on line – and I have reaped the benefits of your time on this blog!
    I look forward to hearing about your next adventure – see ya on the Secular Homeschool Board. 🙂

  5. WOW, say it ain’t so. In a crazy world with so much changing, the wit and humor of Topsy Techie was the one constant. Sure, I might not read for weeks on end but when I checked back in, there you are with fresh posts and insights.

    I too have thought of mothballing my personal blog. Its more of chore than a joy and I’v dropped to a few posts a month instead of a few a week.

    I understand. Thanks for the good times. Forever onwards.

  6. I have loved reading your blog. You’ve shared lots of ideas that have been useful to my family. And it’s always a treat looking into the life of another homeschooling family.

    I totally understand your focus change and that it’s time to move on from this blog. It’s the nature of life. I feel badly when a blogger loses that blogging need yet stick around for the sake of the audience. Blogging is about the needs of the blogger, not the needs of the readers.

    Thanks for the fun, and I will see you on Secular.

  7. I understand the desire. I’m allowing my on-line life to die a slow death, rather than pull the band-aid off quickly.

    See you here and there. Well, just there I guess.

  8. I second what Obi-Mom said! Even Sasquatch is saddened by this news. But we love you and understand and so shall continue to follow you elsewhere 🙂

  9. Topsy, your blog was one of the first homeschooling blogs I ever read, and to say that it changed my life for the better is a HUGE understatement.

    Thank you for sharing with us for so long… I’m so glad to call you friend.

    🙂

Comments are closed.