Give Me An “S”!

After a great week with our out-of-towners, we had a truckload of pictures to go through.  I have always loved pictures.  The smiles on the faces…the candid poses…seeing which shmuck had the closed eyes in each group pic.  So much fun.

Until this year.  This year, looking at pics has been less like fun and more like torture.  I have put on about 15 pounds in a year’s time, and the camera – – she don’t lie.  Oh, the frustration of it all. 

I overlooked the extra 15 or so I added with each of my kiddos.  Just part of being a woman of a certain age, I rationalized.  But those last 15?  Not one darn excuse that seems to work for me.

Even worse, I just don’t DO fad diets.  They make me cranky, and hormonal and not too much fun to live with.  And I DON’T do counting calories.  Lord knows I’ve got enough details in my life to juggle without adding the excruciating rigmarole of checking every label and pulling out the food scale.

But just as I was at the point of disgust with the latest crop of pictures, I happened across a website that grabbed my interest.  It was called Everyday Systems, and it is basically just common sense solutions toward moderating particular behaviors.  I’m all for moderation (in moderation, of course).nosdiet

One of the systems deals with eating, and it is called the No “S”  Diet.  There is no counting.  No obsessing.  No foods that are taboo; no miracle health pills.  Just a mantra, and a few simple rules. 

  • NO SNACKS
  • NO SWEETS
  • NO SECONDS
  • and one exception to the rule:
  • EXCEPT ON “S” DAYS

“S”imple, eh?  I didn’t really need to, but I bought the book.  The mantra basically explains itself, but the book is a good motivational tool.  You eat three balanced meals…anything and everything that can fit in one horizontal layer on an average plate.  Then you are done until the next meal.  No foods are off limits except for sweets.  And on weekends (“S”aturdays, “S”undays) and “S”pecial Days (holidays/birthdays/etc), all rules are null and void.  You can eat what you want, when you want.

It’s a way of eating, rather than a diet.  You don’t feel like you are missing out, because you know that no matter where you are in your week, you’ll be having those foods you crave in less than five days.  Delayed gratification.  I can deal with that. 

This is my first few days with the plan, and I actually think I might stick with this thing.  My tummy has been a little growly before meals, but seeing as how I had forgotten what a growly tummy even felt like, I’m figuring that isn’t such a bad thing.  I’ve already started craving sweets less, since I’m not feeding the beast, and that is a pleasant surprise.  Next week will be the testing ground though: PMS!! 

Might be screaming for some “S” days if I don’t get my prerequisite chocolate fix.  I’ll keep you posted…

 

Technorati Tags: ,,

5 Responses

  1. Sounds like a good way to go. You might not feel deprived and therefore not beat yourself up with guilt. I’ll be curious to hear how it goes. Might try it myself. Good luck!

  2. I’ve been on weight watchers myself. It’s pretty much the same as counting calories so it wouldn’t work for you, but it’s going well for me. Good luck to you!

  3. Laura – – I’ll definitely keep you up to date…so far so good. But time will tell if I can really turn it into a “habit” so that it doesn’t feel like a diet, but just a way of eating.

    Holly – Yep, hubby is doing WW, and he has done it several times in the past. It would drive me bezonkers, but if it works for folks then I say go with it. Although hubby says that obviously he can’t stay on WW forever, and that he might try the no “S” way, once he is at his maintenance weight.

  4. Will the screaming be coming from you, or from your boys as they run from their chocolate deprived PMSing momma?? ;D

    I’m trying the Weight Watchers points system. A friend gave me all of the stuff (she’s down to her goal weight). I lost 8 pounds right of the bat, then stopped following it. I haven’t gained, but haven’t lost any more, either, so I’m gonna give it another shot. If it doesn’t work, I may have to try your plan!

  5. Good luck lady!!!!

Comments are closed.